Full Moon in Scorpio ~ Lotus Moon

.

Super Moon! Scorpio! Full Moon Madness! Cinco de Mayo!

That’ll make a person nervous.

This is the Moon of Secrets. It’s at 16° Scorpio, the second decan, influenced by Pluto and Neptune, classically Mars and Jupiter. This degree of the zodiac is in a part of the sky known as the Heart of the Scorpion with one of the brightest stars in the sky (Antares) at the heart.

Word on the street is that this is a tough celestial neighborhood. You lock your doors when you drive through this neighborhood, if you know what I mean. People who grew up here had a hard scrabble life. They’re tough and fearless. The survivors hope to make it out. Many come back and make a difference.

The Full Moon in Scorpio is also the Flower Moon of May. I’ve gone so far as to call it the Lotus Moon. The lotus is rooted in mud, grime, and water, yet produces a flower that is the metaphysical symbol of the heart. The red lotus is the symbol of a heart fully opened through love, passion, right action, and compassion. It’s a heart that conquers adversity and gives back.

These are two extreme examples of the symbolism for the Full Moon in Scorpio and they really aren’t that different from each other.

You may find yourself in a tough neighborhood emotionally under this Scorpio Moon, but know that your heart can open, shining  as brightly and passionately as Antares.

If waves of emotion engulf you and Full Moon lunacy threatens you from all directions, root yourself. Find your center, your heart. Pay it forward.

Related Posts:

9 thoughts on “Full Moon in Scorpio ~ Lotus Moon

  1. Oh, it’s been intense, all right, but true to form, not something I’d care to share about. One more thing about this full Moon–no, wait, two things . one is that in occult circles, the middle of the fixed signs–Taurus, Scorpio, Leo, and Aquarius–are referred to as the portals of power…some sort of opening of energy. Second, the Taurus/Scorpio full Moon is celebrated by Bhuddists the world over as Buddha’s official birthday, date varies, but this time it’s 15 Taurus-Scorpio. Donna Cunningham

    • How appropriate is all of that?! Thanks, Donna.

      It has been intense, hasn’t it? I’m taking the Boy Scouts greed toward this Full Moon ~ “Be prepared.” Since we’ll also be celebrating Cinco de Mayo, with margaritas involved, there’s an additional fuel for the emotions. I’m reminding myself to stay calm, stay centered. BE the lotus.

  2. Great insight. I love the analogy of the neighborhood. I also like Donna’s comment about the middle of the fixed signs. I have 15 degrees of Scorpio on my 8th house cusp, so I feel like I am getting a double whammy here.

    Also right now, I have Pluto transiting conjunct my natal mars, ruler of my aries ascendant, and also Uranus transiting conjunct my ascendant and square my mars! I am interested to see how things shape up for me with the full moon. I am definitely in a state of transition to.

    • That’s a lot of intensity for you now, Patrice. Definitely a double whammy. I hope the next two weeks bring good things to help with the transition.

      This is one of those Scorpio Moons when we’re lucky to have the waning Sadge Moon as a follow-up for release.

  3. Pingback: Scorpio Moon Energy: Day Fifteen Project Moon Log | Well Wishers Group

  4. This is a 12th House Full Moon for me & I usually like ‘em. Often bring a dark, stark clarity . . . *cackle* :-)

  5. Pingback: Oracle Report ~ May 5 – 6 2012 | | Shift FrequencyShift Frequency

  6. Dear cj
    I must have been in such a state – I even forgot there was a Scorpio Moon.
    Thank you for reminding me.
    I find Full Moon in Scorpio one of the most difficult of the year,
    Love
    Lana

Comments are closed.